Proud of its paddle wheel that gives it an undeniable charm, the Moulin banal of Braine-le-Château is one of the more and more rare picturesque buildings offering visitors a few moments of pleasant nostalgia.
The museum of milling will allow the more inquisitive to (re)discover the practices of the good old days.
Located in the vicinity of the Bailiff's House, the present headquarters of the Royal Syndicat d'Initiative (Tourist Office) of Braine-le-Château, the mill is cited in a donation made in 1226 by Seigneur Othon de Trazegnies to the Saint-Jean de Bruxelles hospital. As we now know it, it is made of arkose stone and local brick. The buildings, already altered and enlarged in the 18th century (a beam inside the mill bears the date 1777 or 1779), were restored in 1972 and now house a museum of milling.
During their visit to the museum, the curious can appreciate at their leisure the ingenuity of our ancestors, as the mill very fortunately still has a paddle wheel that has resisted the ravages of time.
Guided visits possible for groups by appointment only.
Length of the visit: ½ hr.
"Discover the Moulin banal"